Best score for a feature film nominees Mychael Danna, Hans Zimmer, Alexandre Desplat and many other composers will have the spotlight put on them when the awards will be passed out at the Hollywood Music in Media Awards™  (HMMA).

The 12th annual celebration will be presented Wednesday, November 17, 2021 at 5:30pm (PST). The HMMAs honors composers, songwriters, and music supervisors for their work in music for film, television, and videogames.

A new category, outstanding onscreen performance in a film, has been added this year. This award will be presented to an artist, including actors, who perform catalog material on screen — such as Jennifer Hudson reviving the music of Aretha Franklin in the film “Respect.”

The HMMA nominations have historically been representative of the nominees and winners of the Golden Globes, Oscars and Emmys that occur months later.

The list of nominations are below:


  • DON’T LOOK UP (Netflix) – Nicholas Britell
  • KING RICHARD (Warner Bros.) – Kris Bowers
  • NIGHTMARE ALLEY (Searchlight Pictures) – Nathan Johnson
  • NO TIME TO DIE (MGM) – Hans Zimmer
  • STILLWATER (Focus Features) – Mychael Danna
  • THE FRENCH DISPATCH (Searchlight Pictures) – Alexandre Desplat
  • THE LAST DUEL (Walt Disney Studios) – Harry Gregson-Williams
  • THE POWER OF THE DOG (Netflix) – Jonny Greenwood


  • SPIRIT UNTAMED (Universal) – Amie Doherty
  • THE ADDAMS FAMILY 2 (MGM) – Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna
  • THE LOUD HOUSE MOVIE (Netflix) – Philip White
  • VIVO (Sony Pictures) – Alex Lacamoire
  • LUCA (Walt Disney Studios) – Dan Romer
  • THE MITCHELLS VS. THE MACHINES (Iconic Events) – Mark Mothersbaugh


  • BLACK WIDOW (Walt Disney Studios) – Lorne Balfe
  • DUNE (Warner Bros.) – Hans Zimmer
  • CINDERELLA (Amazon) – Mychael Danna & Jessica Rose Weiss
  • SHANG-CHI AND THE LEGEND OF THE TEN RINGS (Walt Disney Studios) – Joel P West
  • THE SUICIDE SQUAD (Warner Bros.) – John Murphy


  • A QUIET PLACE II (Paramount Pictures) – Marco Beltrami
  • ARMY OF THE DEAD (Netflix) – Tom Holkenborg
  • IN THE EARTH (Neon) – Clint Mansell
  • LAST NIGHT IN SOHO (Focus Features) – Steven Price
  • OLD (Universal Pictures) – Trevor Gureckis


  • 14 PEAKS: NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE (Netflix) – Nainita Desai
  • BECOMING COUSTEAU (Picturehouse) – Daniel Bensi and Saunder Jurriaans
  • JULIA (CNN Films) – Rachel Portman
  • OPERATION VARSITY BLUES (Netflix) – Leopold Ross, Nick Chuba, Atticus Ross
  • OSLO (HBO) – Jeff Russo and Zoë Keating
  • STRIP DOWN, RISE UP (Netflix) – Lili Haydn
  • THE RESCUE (NatGeo) – Daniel Pemberton


  • C’MON C’MON (The Searchers) – Bryce Dessner & Aaron Dessner
  • CODA (Apple TV+) – Marius de Vries
  • NINE DAYS (SPE) – Antonio Pinto
  • THE CARD COUNTER (Focus Features) – Robert Levon Been & Giancarlo Vulcano
  • THE GREEN KNIGHT (A24) – Daniel Hart
  • THE TRAGEDY OF MACBETH (A24) – Carter Burwell


  • “Be Alive” from KING RICHARD (Warner Bros.) – Written by Dixson and Beyoncé Knowles-Carter. Performed by BEYONCÉ
  • “Every Letter” from CYRANO (United Artists) – Written by Aaron Dessner and Bryce Dessner, Matt Berninger and Carin Besser. Performed by Peter Dinklage, Haley Bennett & Kelvin Harrison Jr.
  • “Guns Go Bang” from THE HARDER THEY FALL (Netflix) – Written by Jeymes Samuel, Scott Mescudi (Kid Cudi), Shawn Carter (Jay-Z). Performed by Kid Cudi and JAY-Z
  • “Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)” from RESPECT (MGM) – Written by Carole King, Jennifer Hudson & Jamie Hartman. Performed by Jennifer Hudson
  • “Just Look Up” from DON’T LOOK UP (Netflix) – Written by Nicholas Britell, Ariana Grande, Scott Mescudi and Taura Stinson. Performed by Ariana Grande and Kid Cudi
  • “My Father’s Daughter” from FLAG DAY (MGM) – Written by Glen Hansard & Eddie Vedder. Performed by Olivia Vedder
  • “No Time to Die” from NO TIME TO DIE (MGM) – Written by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell. Performed by Billie Eilish


  • “Good Mood” from PAW PATROL (Paramount Pictures) – Written by Karl Johan Schuster, Savan Kotecha, Oscar Gorres and Adam Levine. Performed by Adam Levine
  • “Fearless (Valiente)” from SPIRIT UNTAMED (Universal Pictures) – Written by Amie Doherty. Performed by Isabela Merced & Eiza González
  • “Follow Me Home” from ARLO THE ALLIGATOR BOY (Netflix) – Written by Ryan Crego & Alex Geringas. Performed by Mary Lambert & Michael J. Woodard
  • “On My Way” from THE MITCHELLS VS. THE MACHINES (Iconic Events) – Written by Alex Lahey, Sophie Payten and Gab Strum. Produced by Gab Strum with Alex Lahey. Performed by Alex Lahey.
  • “Together We Stand” from THE BOSS BABY: FAMILY BUSINESS (DreamWorks) – Written by Gary Barlow. Performed by Ariana Greenblatt
  • “Your Song Saved My Life” from SING 2 (Universal Pictures) – Written by Bono. Performed by U2


  • “Breathe” from THE FIRST WAVE (Neon) – Written and performed by Jon Batiste
  • “Looking Up” from WORLD WOMAN HOUR (Internet) – Written by Ryan Shore & Elizabeth Russo. Performed by Angelica Hale
  • “(Never Gonna) Tame You” from THE MUSTANGS: AMERICA’S WILD HORSES (Virgil Films) – Written by Diane Warren. Performed by Blanco Brown.
  • “Right Where I Belong” from BRIAN WILSON: LONG PROMISED ROAD (Screen Media Films) – Written by Brian Wilson & Jim James. Performed by Brian Wilson
  • “Secret Sister” from REBEL HEARTS (Discovery+) – Written and performed by Rufus Wainwright
  • “The Other Side of The Rainbow” from CURED (Singer & Deschamps Productions) – Written by Ian Honeyman and Tucker Murray Caploe, Performed by TUCKER and Ian Honeyman


  • “After Our Dawn” from AFTER WE FELL (Vertical Entertainment) – Written by George Kallis, Castille Landon, Nicolas Farmakalidis, Ryan Steffes, George Solonos, Taylor Conrod. Performed by Taylor Conrod
  • “Because Love” from LOVE IS LOVE IS LOVE (Blue Fox Entertainment) – Written by Rita Wilson and Laura Karpman. Performed by Rita Wilson
  • “Beyond the Shore” from CODA (Apple TV+) – Written by Nick Baxter, Siân Heder, Marius de Vries, Matt Dahan. Performed by Emilia Jones
  • “Down to Joy” from BELFAST (Focus Features) – Written and performed by Van Morrison
  • “Somehow You Do” from FOUR GOOD DAYS (Vertical Entertainment) – Written by Diane Warren. Performed by Reba McEntire


  • Amandla Stenberg – “The Anonymous Ones” from DEAR EVAN HANSEN (Universal Pictures) Written by Benj Pasek, Justin Paul & Amandla Stenberg
  • Anthony Ramos and Leslie Grace featuring Marc Anthony – “Home All Summer” from IN THE HEIGHTS (Warner Bros.) written By Lin-Manuel Miranda
  • Anya Taylor-Joy – “Downtown” from LAST NIGHT IN SOHO (Focus Features) Written by Tony Hatch
  • Arianna Grande – “Just Look Up” from DON’T LOOK UP (Netflix) written by Nicholas Britell, Ariana Grande, Scott Mescudi and Tara Stinson
  • Emilia Jones – “Both Sides Now” from CODA (Apple TV+) written by Joni Mitchell.
  • Glen Hansard, Sam Amidon, Scott Folan & Chorus – “Whenever I Fall” from CYRANO (United Artists) written by Aaron Dessner, Bryce Dessner, Matt Berninger and Carin Besser
  • Jennifer Hudson, Hailey Kilgore & Saycon Sengbloh – “Respect” from RESPECT (MGM) written by Otis Redding


  • A CROSS IN THE DESERT (Aleksandrija Film) – Ana Krstajic
  • BENEATH THE BANYAN TREE (Lerfilm) – Wei-San Hsu
  • BLAST BEAT (Vertical Entertainment) – David Murillo R.
  • EL HOYO EN LA CERCA (Cine Canibal) – Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein
  • PARALLEL MOTHERS (Sony Pictures Classics) – Alberto Iglesias