An evening at the Oscar celebration was a night of firsts

“Parasite” took home the top prize at the 92nd Academy Awards Sunday night. It also won the prize for Best International Feature Film, making it the first film ever to win both categories on the same night. It is also the first non-English language film to win the best picture award.

The film also picked up Oscars for Best Director (Bong Joon Ho) and Best Original Screenplay (Bong Joon Ho, Han Jin Won).

The thriller beat the odds to win best picture over “1917,” a box-office hit with a string of conquests at previous award shows.

The wins for “Parasite” echoed hints of a more inclusive Oscars that many critics of the entertainment business have called for. During his acceptance speech for best international film, Mr. Bong referred to a naming change by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences from the “foreign-language film” category to “international feature film.” Said Mr. Bong, “I applaud and support the direction that this new change symbolizes.”

Hildur Gudnadóttir won the Oscar for best original score for “Joker,” making her the first woman to win for a dramatic composition.

“To the girls, to the women, to the mothers, to the daughters who hear the music bubbling within, please speak up,” said Gudnadóttir. “We need to hear your voices.”

Taika Waititi also made history when he became the first Māori person to win an Oscar.

Waititi won Best Adapted Screenplay for “Jojo Rabbit,” which he wrote, directed and starred in. He is the first Indigenous person to be nominated in the category and the first to win an Oscar.

The 2020 Oscars aired live on ABC from the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood.

And the Oscar goes to…

Best picture

  • “Parasite” (WINNER)
  • “Ford v. Ferrari”
  • “The Irishman”
  • “Jojo Rabbit”
  • “Joker”
  • “Little Women”
  • “Marriage Story”
  • “1917”
  • “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

Performance by an actress in a leading role

  • Renee Zellweger, “Judy” (WINNER)
  • Cynthia Erivo, “Harriet”
  • Scarlett Johansson, “Marriage Story”
  • Saoirse Ronan, “Little Women”
  • Charlize Theron, “Bombshell”

Performance by an actor in a leading role

  • Joaquin Phoenix, “Joker” (WINNER)
  • Antonio Banderas, “Pain and Glory”
  • Leonardo DiCaprio, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”
  • Adam Driver, “Marriage Story”
  • Jonathan Pryce, “The Two Popes”

Achievement in directing

  • Bong Joon Ho, “Parasite” (WINNER)
  • Martin Scorsese, “The Irishman”
  • Todd Phillips, “Joker”
  • Sam Mendes, “1917”
  • Quentin Tarantino, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (original song)

  • Elton John and Bernie Taupin, ”(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” from “Rocketman” (WINNER)
  • Randy Newman, “I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” from “Toy Story 4″
  • Diane Warren, “I’m Standing With You” from “Breakthrough”
  • Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez, “Into the Unknown” from “Frozen II”
  • Joshuah Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo, “Stand Up” from “Harriet”

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (original score)

  • Hildur Gudnadottir, “Joker” (WINNER)
  • Alexandre Desplat, “Little Women”
  • Randy Newman, “Marriage Story”
  • Thomas Newman, “1917”
  • John Williams, “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”

International feature film

  • South Korea, “Parasite” (WINNER)
  • Poland, “Corpus Christi”
  • North Macedonia, “Honeyland”
  • France, “Les Miserables”
  • Spain, “Pain and Glory”

Achievement in make-up and hairstyling

  • Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan and Vivian Baker, “Bombshell” (WINNER)
  • Nicki Ledermann and Kay Georgiou, “Joker”
  • Jeremy Woodhead, “Judy”
  • Paul Gooch, Arjen Tuiten and David White, “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil”
  • Naomi Donne, Tristan Versluis and Rebecca Cole, “1917”

Achievement in visual effects

  • Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler and Dominic Tuohy, “1917” (WINNER)
  • Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken and Dan Sudick, “Avengers: Endgame”
  • Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser and Stephane Grabli, “The Irishman”
  • Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Elliot Newman, “The Lion King”
  • Robert Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach and Dominic Tuohy, “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”

Achievement in film editing

  • Michael McCusker and Andrew Buckland, “Ford v. Ferrari” (WINNER)
  • Thelma Schoonmaker, “The Irishman”
  • Tom Eagles, “Jojo Rabbit”
  • Jeff Groth, “Joker”
  • Yang Jinmo, “Parasite”

Achievement in cinematography

  • Roger Deakins, “1917” (WINNER)
  • Rodrigo Prieto, “The Irishman”
  • Lawrence Sher, “Joker”
  • Jarin Blaschke, “The Lighthouse”
  • Robert Richardson, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

Achievement in sound mixing

  • Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson, “1917” (WINNER)
  • Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson and Mark Ulano, “Ad Astra”
  • Paul Massey, David Giammarco, and Steven A. Morrow, “Ford v. Ferrari”
  • Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic, and Tod Maitland, “Joker”
  • Michael Minkler, Christian P. Minkler and Mark Ulano, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

Achievement in sound editing

  • Donald Sylvester, “Ford v. Ferrari” (WINNER)
  • Alan Robert Murray, “Joker”
  • Oliver Tarney and Rachael Tate, “1917”
  • Wylie Stateman, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”
  • Matthew Wood and David Acord, “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Laura Dern, “Marriage Story” (WINNER)
  • Kathy Bates, “Richard Jewell”
  • Scarlett Johansson, “Jojo Rabbit”
  • Florence Pugh, “Little Women”
  • Margot Robbie, “Bombshell”

Best documentary short subject

  • “Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)” (WINNER)
  • “In the Absence”
  • “Life Overtakes Me”
  • “St. Louis Superman”
  • “Walk Run Cha-Cha”

Best documentary feature

  • “American Factory” (WINNER)
  • “The Cave”
  • “The Edge of Democracy”
  • “For Sama”
  • “Honeyland”

Achievement in costume design

  • Jacqueline Durran, “Little Women” (WINNER)
  • Sandy Powell and Christopher Peterson, “The Irishman”
  • Mayes C. Rubeo, “Jojo Rabbit”
  • Mark Bridges, “Joker”
  • Arianne Phillips, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

Achievement in production design

  • Barbara Ling and Nancy Haigh, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” (WINNER)
  • Bob Shaw and Regina Graves, “The Irishman”
  • Ra Vincent and Nora Sopkova, “Jojo Rabbit”
  • Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales, “1917”
  • Lee Ha Jun and Cho Won-woo, “Parasite”

Best live action short film

  • “The Neighbors’ Window” (WINNER)
  • “Brotherhood”
  • “Nefta Football Club”
  • “Saria”
  • “A Sister”

Best adapted screenplay

  • Taika Waititi, “Jojo Rabbit” (WINNER)
  • Steven Zaillian, “The Irishman”
  • Todd Phillips and Scott Silver, “Joker”
  • Greta Gerwig, “Little Women”
  • Anthony McCarten, “The Two Popes”

Best original screenplay

  • Bong Joon Ho, Han Jin Won, “Parasite” (WINNER)
  • Rian Johnson, “Knives Out”
  • Noah Baumbach, “Marriage Story”
  • Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns, “1917”
  • Quentin Tarantino, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

Best animated short film

  • “Hair Love” (WINNER)
  • “Dcera”
  • “Kitbull”
  • “Memorable”
  • “Sister”

Best animated feature film

  • “Toy Story 4” (WINNER)
  • “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”
  • “I Lost My Body”
  • “Klaus”
  • “Missing Link”

Actor in a supporting role

  • Brad Pitt, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” (WINNER)
  • Tom Hanks, “A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood”
  • Anthony Hopkins, “The Two Popes”
  • Al Pacino, “The Irishman”
  • Joe Pesci, “The Irishman”